Thursday, 26 March 2026

El Tunco, Mon-Tue and El Tunco-London

Mon 1455 indoor people having brain-dead debate outside my room on the balcony about US tax policy, the more you earn the less you pay, anyway, fuck em. As it happens I've come in to count my money because I wonder if I need to get some cash out to go home with. I have approximately two hundred dollars in my open stash, plus, um, fifty and one hiding place, twenty and another, so call that 270. I think I have about a hundred and eighty in my belt, so that's 270 plus 180, so call that 350, is that right? Let me stop talking.

Yeah I think that's right I also have about 55 in my pocket of spending money I've already paid for tonight and tomorrow night's accommodation I will need to pay $30 for the taxi to the airport and I will need obviously a bit of spending money for tonight and tomorrow let me check my notes and see what I came out with.

To be honest, it's super unclear, but my notes seem to suggest I had $222, $222 on the way out. To be honest, while I don't like being exposed to cash, my gut feeling is that I might... There's a Ippotocario machine which is supposedly fee-free right next to the hostel. I might withdraw $100 or $200 tomorrow, but I guess I don't need to rush. I'm here all day tomorrow. And I'm probably going to go home slightly cash positive, even if I don't do anything. I got some, I'll write this up later, I wrote, so I got some coke at Pepsi at that little mini market with the fierce air conditioning earlier. Put them in the fridge. I don't desperately want to drink during the day, but I may not drink much tonight. And I still got this bottle of Aguadiente from the first part of the trip in El Salvador. So, I'm going to go down and have some coke and Aguadiente in the terrors. I just went down there before when I got back and cut up some plastic bottles to make some more mending things for my sandals, some of those plastic washers. Anyway, let's have a quick crap and go down with the Aguadiente and just sit and mull.

1534 so I went for breakfast at pu chi can after brief chat in dorm with the british couple (not too smooth but not great and I was waiting for my turn in bathroom). Oh I skept badly again due to the fan and eg dug my fleece out and tried to use it to keep warmer but in an odd way I kept smiling to myself about this fenuine annoyance.

Had a cafe helado at La neveria and got a bus after 50 mins wait (a 192) over to el zonte. Brief look round, saw the Satoshi statue and did some CC exercises at the adjacent open air gym and walked along the beach. Could find an obviously afforsable coffee but had a 1.25ksh litre shlufwr grape soda at a table out front of a smallish grocery sgore. Toyed with going into Hope House but couldn't see it, despite going where GM said it was.

Was going tk get the bus but a pickup with a 4 seat car  pulled up and I wasn't sure if the driver was just picking up the European tourist woman also waiting a bus stop bit basically she asked if I wanted to go and we both paid a dollar and I sat in the back earwigging as best I could (very mechanically noisy) on their fairly fluid Spanish conversation as he had an 80s 90s playlist (self control and big in japan) on which was modulated by both the left and right speakers intermittently disconnecting. Oddly memorable ride.

Walked back via small shop where I got the Pepsi and now here.

1553 second ag and coke.

Hostel activities tonight are seeing sunset together 530 and board games at 8. I will probably try to join both but not super excited, although tbh they could be good and except for a slight "I would almost rather go out and have a few beers" feeling, it isn't as if I really have much else I want or need to do.

I may go out and see if I can find any crappy souvenirs after this drink.

1558 just had quick chat with british woman from dorm. I think they might be Alan and Liv but not sure.

Tue 1257 I need to write up everything that's happened on the whole, it's been pretty good with sort of an unpleasant night but just to say I've just checked in online I may go out and print it now and I'm going to see if I can arrange the taxi and then that'll be sorted and I need to get some food before the shop's shop. There's plenty of time but that way I don't have to panic at the last minute. I'm feeling a bit ropey but not too bad. I got an aisle seat on the first flight anyway so that's a minor bonus especially if I am feeling a bit edgy although I don't know I think I'm basically fine and I also realised that the flight is I don't quote this from memory but it's like I'm actually in Bogota from like 4 to 11 pm or something so it actually wouldn't be that good for going out into the city anyway I pretty much decided I wasn't going to but I did have a chat with LLM to see if I'd forgotten any options but I was thinking it was more in the day and it's only a seven hour 25 minute or something layover which obviously sucks but I'd been saying to myself and telling everyone it's nine hours so the fact that it's seven hours and a bit is actually quite a nice little little bonus now I mean the whole thing is 20 hours something you know from one flight taking off to the first flight taking off to the last flight landing which is a lot but not too bad right anyway it is what it is I'm not going to type all this up now because my voice typing in the dorm and the on-screen key was crappy but I might write something up later or failing that I don't think I'm going to forget what's happened and of course I have some photos to also back things up to some extent I have I can always write it up during the layover for example but I may write it up later anyway I'm going to stop talking

1636 gutted. I've been repacking and as far as I can tell I have lost the wireless transmitter Bluetooth that I never actually used But obviously that might have been nice to have for the flight back and I've lost 128 gig USB stick with all my photos on and the USB on the go cable it was attached to. I've been through the stuff twice I cannot find it. It's vaguely possible. It's hiding. I Mean fingers crossed. I haven't actually lost any photos because they are all I think on the SD card in the A06 and I haven't deleted anything except photos off the p7 so You know the photos should I deleted to free up space should have been uploaded to the micro server But nonetheless, this is I'm still gutted It's like I can't rule out the possibilities with some obscure files Although to be fair most things would probably be a copy as long as I get both phones home intact and get the files off It's probably fine, but I am gutted. I have no idea how it happened It must have had something to do with the repacks before and after the the volcano trip where I use the main bag and Maybe something fell on the floor in that room in the hostel in La union or something. I mean I cannot absolutely rule out the possibility that they're buried somewhere But I suspect not having me into things twice. I can't go through stuff again I say I probably haven't lost any photos, but I'm still gutted It's probably about 30 or 40 50 quid's worth of stuff not to mention. I don't like losing things anyway It's not a good sign and obviously that bloody USB stick the whole point of that was that it was extremely precious It is vaguely possible. It's lurking somewhere. I don't feel terrible, but I'm not 100% But I can't find it

1649 I did mostly go through everything again I can't find it I am gutted I say probably I've still got all the photos and everything I probably haven't actually lost any information but I'm obviously a lot more exposed to things like one of the phones getting broken or stolen or tits up before I can copy stuff off or the micro server going down not much I can do about it I put a message out on the hostel WhatsApp group here but I don't think anyone's stolen it and to be honest I don't think it got lost here it's all just been such a whirl these last few days I've been running around like crazy ever since Leon basically I would probably be a note in the blog about me doing some photocopying at some point maybe I just left it on a table then I've also lost that USB the Bluetooth transmitter so maybe there's no connection I don't know I say I've been through stuff pretty carefully there's nothing I can do about it just maybe this stuff will miraculously turn up at home I can get through the flight without the Bluetooth transmitter I didn't use it on the flight out and this is a night flight and I've still got the headphones to have noise cancelling and listen to some music on my phone if I want and I wasn't even sure I was allowed to use it last time it's obviously it's annoying because it was 10 or 15 pounds I think maybe and never actually used it and the USB on the go cable I've had that that was working well I've had that USB stick for ages and obviously just generally losing stuff never feels good especially not stuff which is the crown jewels almost you know that USB stick I'm supposed to have taken really good care of I don't know where I lost it if it's lost it probably is it probably got lost a hostel or two back but I mean yeah we could perhaps do some forensics with the blog and work out when I last mentioned it and I might be able to tax my memory but anyway it is what it is I'm not happy but as I say fingers crossed I probably haven't actually lost any photos or any other files it's just a layer of backup has gone obviously I can't do anything about it now

Wed 0836 so, I'm voice typing this in the food court landside at San Salvador Airport, I got here about 10 minutes ago. Everything's fine, everything's fine. I don't feel amazing, but I don't feel too bad. I had most of my remaining brothers toast after I got up at 6.30 this morning. There was a bit of disoriented stuff at 3, 4 in the morning, like where the hell am I with some visions of me being on some sort of weird island or pseudo-zopiloti thing where I had to hike or wade or swim out. Not quite swimming, I mean, maybe there's a hint of the kite surfing in there. I mean, anyway, everything's fine. I did see Alan brief this morning, he was awake, I sort both of them, but said morning to him. I had some toast, taxi turned up a couple of minutes after 7.30, driver didn't really talk, no problem. Deliberately didn't wear my seatbelt in the back, even though there actually was one. Sometimes there is one, but there's no way to plug it in because it's disappeared. But I thought, fuck it, last trip here, so not going to do it. I feel a bit discombobulated, I just don't, it's like, should I go through to the airside, but then it's a bit early, the flight is at least showing on time. I'm going to spend hours airside. I could eat something here, but should I? I mean, you know, with the stomach issues, I should perhaps at least have my last two slices of bread that I brought with me. I left a little bit of aguadiente and a nearly full bottle of Pepsi in the fridge, in the hostel, I sent a message on the WhatsApp group telling people to help themselves. Nothing's wrong, I don't feel too bad, I feel a tiny bit sad to be leaving, but also it will theoretically be nice to be back home and see everyone and stuff like that. I'm just a tiny bit weird feeling.

In the back of the taxi I had both of my phones in my left pocket and without really anything feeling forced the zip just suddenly went so I don't think I can mend it on the fly, it's a bit annoying but at least the pair of trousers very nearly lasted the entire trip, it just means that pocket which is rather gapey when it's not zipped up is sort of out of commission which is slightly inconvenient for the flights but hardly the end of the world, erm, yeah.

0842 getting a cafe frozen for 2 50 at Claudius, saw it on a screen, might not be smart but it will use some change up and these vaguely frappe style things have been a new to me and frequentish thing during trip so this feels vaguely like a decent send off if it doesnt fuck my stomach over, plus it is calories.

0913 okay, so I just finished the frappe thing, the frozen as it's called. That was quite nice, I don't feel particularly sick, bit shivery actually, but I think that's just not, just in a low temperature way, because I'm in an air con and I've had that. It still feels too early to go airside, but now that I've eaten, there isn't really any reason not to be airside, it's like I'm not going to go out for some fresh air at this point. Am I saying that I suddenly get worried about it, but no I'm not. And it's like I might as well get through the security and it makes sure that my boarding pass electronically is working to be maximum time to try and sort something out that really shouldn't be any problem. I'm just always a bit nervous about going airside unnecessarily early, but it's fine. As I say, now that I've eaten what I've had this coffee, even if I didn't have any stomach concerns, I don't really want Burger King or pizza or Pollo Camparo at this time in the morning. So if I am going to be spending on airport food, it's going to be airside, most likely in Bogota anyway. I really don't want the restaurant facilities here, landside, that may not exist airside. So, especially now I've had this coffee, coffee pay thing, there's no real reason not to go.

0951 so I wandered out the front, just for the hell of it, as it happened to be 9.35 so I noticed that because it's like, I think 23 hours to the minutes in some time due to landing in London. Nice and warm out, check the weather forecast in London, says it's like field seven is nine or something very vaguely like that, when I get there that is, that's fine, just a bit of a contrast. I came in, went through security and a checkpoint, all very polite, no force, I took all my stuff off and put it in the bag first, except after they scanned my bag twice, they said they were doing it and didn't do anything second time round, it's fine, they even called me back and asked if I'd left something on the counter, which was a coat that wasn't mine, but fingers crossed I haven't lost anything, I'm a bit edgy, I always am and having had lost that USB stick doesn't help, but my bag is fairly full which is in part because I've picked up stuff on the way, for instance I'm carrying a nearly full pack of 48 Huggies because I didn't see any point throwing them out, if I could bring them back with me, they might offer me some comfort in a toilet washing up, cleaning myself up a bit in Bogota or something if I feel sweaty or whatever and you know I've got quite a bit of food for the flight and stuff if I can get it through for Bogota, so anyway my bag isn't really that, I mean I picked up the stuff from the event in El Salvador to start the trip and there's the t-shirt from the volcano boarding if that's survived, anyway it's all fine, I'm now at airside just after security talking to myself like a loon and I'm gonna go through, I feel basically okay, did have a crap between before I came through airside as well, first one in a day or two actually, not too bad actually, fairly solid, it's exciting stuff isn't it, alright well that'll do.

Anyway my point is that the bag is fairly big so in some sense I can't have forgotten too much. I haven't counted my clothes or anything before I left but I had a very good check round in the dorm so if I had lost anything I'm pretty sure I lost it earlier and I'm fairly sure I got everything. Yeah, anyway.

0959 okay, so there actually seems to be a drinking water fountain between the 12-13 to 19 and 1-12 blocks of gates next to the coffee cup. So I filled up my small bottle, 600ml. I necked the 600ml before I came through security and I tipped the 1 litre I'd brought with me down the sink in the toilet. I've got both bottles with me and I've just filled up the 600ml. The litre one is, I mean there should be refills at Bogota, but the litre one is just keep saying more. Just so I can use it for measuring out to disinfect if I really need to./

1001 flight's delayed to 13.05. There's no announcement, I just saw it on screen. I'm feeling a bit gutted but at the same time obviously it really doesn't matter as long as nothing else goes wrong. With a seven hour layover it just spreads the time a bit differently and perhaps better. There's a kind of vaguely bossa nova version of that Morrissey Smith song, Why Do You Come Here, Why Do You Come, when you know it makes it hard for me, which is kind of weird and cool. I wish I could remember the title but I'd rather get the lyrics down and I know which song it is.

1010 the airport feels quite a lot larger than I expected, obviously I didn't see this when I arrived. Anyway, there's a little art gallery here, not too bad, don't really like the theme as such. Well, no, no, it's kind of interesting, but slightly smug, but then that's what these posters are always about, the tech site. Anyway, it's abstractly modern, but whatever you might say about that, I don't find them displeasing, they're quite pleasing, so anyway, that's irrelevant. I probably ought to start writing stuff up and talking to myself like a loom, I guess people just think I'm on a phone call or something, so I'm wandering around a bit. Anyway, before we get into the general background, I'm still in the art gallery, before we get into the writing up the mist stuff, let me just waffle a bit, like I've been already saying, it's all repetitive, I'm a bit sad to be leaving, I've got all sorts of mixed feelings, like I'm not dreading this flight, I feel fingers crossed, relatively healthy, it'd be nice to see mum and dad and Jaffa, and to some extent, although that's a couple of weeks away, because I'll probably be visiting family for the next couple of weeks, I need to be careful not to put on too much weight and stuff, you know, the stuff to look forward to, even getting back into swimming, and I want to do some personal projects and stuff, and I can come back and borrow more or less, I'm not too worried about money and stuff, and there could be another trip later, or I might do some kitesurfing in Egypt, money permitting, it's fine, I'm sad to be leaving, last night could have been better but under the circumstances, I didn't do too badly, and it's like, you know, the trip as a whole, certainly and it's ups and downs, but there've been some, some definitely good bits, and some, some pretty raw bits, you know, it's just me getting over worked up, but raw all the same, and it feels like forever, I mean that's probably a good thing in terms of subjective life extension and stuff, it feels like absolutely forever since I left in January, I mean, nine weeks, not quite nine weeks, isn't nothing but man, it just feels like an eternity, which is good, don't know, I'm not saying the time, it's just like, you know, lots of stuff happened, lots of change, so yeah, anyway, I'm gonna stop talking and wander around a bit more, and then I'll maybe write some more, not type, some more, voice type, some.

Yeah, there's another water point down towards Gate 1 and 7 something like that. There's obviously quite a few of them. I'm just talking to myself like an idiot Yeah, I mean obviously all the usual sort of stuff all travel and is it worth it and how real is it and why am I doing this? But yeah, it's fine. I did enjoy myself and Not that I have any specific travel goal But although I didn't speak as much Spanish as I might have liked I did speak some I'm thinking I did meet some locals you know there were those nights down at the especially that quiet night down at the gas station in Santa Ana and You know I've met some of the people and to some extent I've done some stereotypical Hostily touristy stuff and I've it's not go so far say I've made friends although I think other people just use that term so lightly I probably could get away with it But you know, it's it's been okay, right? It's been okay. I Am sad to be going home Yeah, I mean at the same time. Maybe it's just me. It's like yesterday obviously with the illness, but It is kind of wearing at the same time to be somewhere. That's just so hot all the time It's not always hot like Santa Ana was fine. You know you do get the cool evenings and I guess I was feeling worse yesterday because I was I'm still under the weather, but It's like every time I don't go wrong. It's not like I've been suffering non-stop But it's like it will also be nice to be somewhere where you know you just go out in the day And it's cool or cold even or in the summer where it's mostly warm in it, but not stifling of course all the stuff about being at home and just having my toothbrush right there by the sink and not by oh I left my towel in the bag when I've already gotten dressed So now I need to get dressed again so I can go out the bathroom into the dorm to get the towel to come back into The bathroom to have a shower all those kind of little irritations where you make little balls of for the whole dorm Situation or shared bathroom even if you've got a private those little irritations You know things like not having to eat in restaurants all the time You know because even in these cheap restaurants that I do like and with the pupusas and everything it's still It's still a tiny bit more sort of stressful than just cooking what you want at home and eating it when you want in whatever quantity you want and You know obviously it's the swings and roundabouts. I'm not saying it's good. I'm just waffling and this is all try other is true Anyway, I'm gonna let this type dictate whatever

I mean, the voice typing's crap, but it's not too bad. Hopefully future me can piece it together. Let's just bash out what's happened the last couple of days. So, I'm not scrolled back to check, but I think, let's see, it's Wednesday today, Tuesday was the day I was under the weather and the last day. So, Monday, oh, I'm going to stop and scroll back. Oh, yeah, what the hell? I just don't like scrolling back, because with this dodgy screen, if it starts going invisible monkey on me, it'll just delete random bits of text. run the bits of text, but that doesn't happen very often, I'll take it back up first. 

Okay, yeah, so it was Monday and I'd had a couple of Agua Deentes and Pepsies, I don't get the terminology right, on the hostile terrorists, those people talking upstairs, and then there were supposedly those activities, and the board games got cancelled officially, not that it was a problem, just saying, because there was this live music at 7.30. And, long story short, I mean, I did get told about the live music, but there was also a certain amount of talking over my head about it or what felt like it when I was there having the rum and cokes or something, and then the volunteer who was in my dorm. I'm not sure she was in my dorm, she seemed to be using one of the bunks as a massive storage area, but I don't think she was sleeping there, because she wasn't there this morning, and the bunk was still covered in junk, like she couldn't possibly have slept in it. Anyway, it doesn't matter, she'd told me about it, but I was feeling a bit sort of pissed off and stuff, and it was like, oh yeah, now I'm being told in an official capacity, because she has to. That is a bit stupid, but, so I did go to that, and I couldn't really, I can't remember exactly how it felt, I was feeling kind of shitty, it's like, it wasn't, oh, I went down to see the sunset, which was supposed to be a together thing, yeah, that's about right, and I bumped into some of the people, including that British couple, and the annoying, might have been German, actually, maybe she was just a fluent German speaker, that's slightly annoying, probably okay, actually, I spoke to her last night, loud, very little, loud American woman, and the party kind of guy who I'll talk about, and there's a few other people, and it's not that I hadn't, I hadn't tried hard to join them, but I was hanging around there, and feeling very much on the fringe, and just standing near them, this was as I was about to go back to the hostel after watching the sunset, but, and I could have maybe tried to flag in a bit more, but I didn't, anyway, so I went back to the hostel, and I might have hung around a bit, I can't quite remember, I perhaps had a shower, and then I thought, oh well, I ended up going to the live music place on my own, sitting at the bar, and they did turn up later, and it's like, they sort of split up, and it was a bit weird, but, I felt really, sort of, billy no mates, and like, well technically there's something happening here, and yet I somehow just don't seem to be able to join in, and it was all really weird, to be honest, while they were quite good about organizing the events, I think the people, hostel actually in general, were quite nice to some extent, there was this element of, oh it's, we say it's such and such time, but actually people aren't going to head over for another hour or two later, or they'll miss the start and turn up later, or whatever, maybe because the volunteers have done these things several times, or they're busy chatting, or whatever, anyway, so I went over on my own, and I was feeling pretty down, and I was sitting at the bar, the music was pretty good, but I felt a bit awkward, so let me let the voice type and catch up with all this wandering.

So I'm actually feeling surprisingly chilled, all things considered. I mean, maybe the sort of lounge music helps. I'm actually recording this accidentally as I'm recording a sample of it. There's a version of Fly Me To The Moon, kind of Bossa Nova-y. Let me stop the recording.

So anyway I stayed until the live music ended it was quite good and I was not feeling absolutely awful but I was sort of debating things in my head and stuff and anyway I went back to the hostel and I think that's where I bumped into I forgotten am I the the Danish guy I'd met I did get his name right correctly but I've not looked it up just now because of the massive difficulty of looking anything up he came running over sounds a bit eager but he came up to me as I was going up the stairs to my room I think I was gonna have a shower or something or I'd just come out the shower and he goes oh hi and you know so I got his name right and we chatted a little bit and it was really nice to see him actually it's like we were super close but it was nice of him to come over and everything and I said oh I'm just gonna go to the bar across the road and he didn't want to come but I mean I just arrived that day anyway blah blah but that was nice and then I went to the bar across the road and I sat outside and I scraped acquaintance with this chap and then I'd been hearing some music the chap was a sort of he said he was first language is English but he seemed to keep dropping into Spanish in a very strange way I think he might have been very drunk or perhaps even on something mildly illegal nothing major I don't know but he's in a nice enough chap and we talked a little bit and I think he was American but I don't know I mean I didn't want to probe it's fine you live in there a few months and anyway and we'd been hearing some music so I went upstairs there was a couple of guys doing live music it was very quiet there was like another table and I think some of the guys from the hostel would in and out and like the party guy turned up with a bottle of rum that's been doing them so last day or two and he gave me a bit of rum or something and then they went out and I stayed there and I listened to live music and I had a couple more beers and I wasn't feeling too bad at this point I because I think I said that I did a leg lift exercise at the open air gym in Elzante maybe that had done some small thing to my muscles I didn't use them like for ages maybe coincidence but my stomach was feeling just slightly funny and I actually left a little last beer.

So this is about midnight and I walked into the hostel and it's all dark and the sort of main lower terrace which is on the first floor by my standards because there's becker virtually nothing on the ground floor and It's just calm and muse. I might as well say now. I've left if it's not obvious already and there's maybe about 10 people sitting around in the dark and some of them call out to me Possibly it was the British couple or possibly it was the party guys and they and I've just made some sort of quip about how Are you all really attractive sitting there in the dark? And I I went over and sat down and I felt kind of like alright and People drifted off and basically I ended up playing Jenga with like stupid ...questions and very minor forfeits on the blocks and stuff like that, and it got down to basically five of us, like me, the British couple, the party guy, and there was an Australian chap who left about 130. I think I saw him the next day, but to be honest, I never quite got to pin down which of several people he was, because I just didn't see him enough, and I did feel kind of included, and it felt kind of natural and friendly, and that was really good, you know, really stereotypical hostel. And then I left at two, and I think they went to bed about ten past, twenty past two, the Jenga was very much ancillary to the conversation, I was just sort of carrying the conversation along. I didn't drink during this time, I had a bottle of Pepsi in the fridge, because I bought the two bottles and the Aguadiente, I offered those round, I don't think anyone was interested, but you know, I think it was appreciated. I went under the bridge, got rid of a bit of straight coke, I just drank the coke, so I did not, I'd had a few beers over the night, you know, maybe three, four, I took photos of them, because they were craft beers at the live music, and I'd had the Aguadientes and cokes in the afternoon, and those would probably mostly be metabolised, and then I probably had, let's say, three at the bar, me chaler, the pirate bar, MI space, CH, ELA, nearly opposite the hostel, with live music and stuff. So I wasn't particularly drunk, and I was on the coke for two hours, and I had this slight pain in the stomach all the time, but I was ignoring it, because I'm not writing this off, and then in the night, basically, I can't believe I've already written this, but I've probably been discussing the symptoms of an LLM or something, like three, four times in the night, it was like, I wasn't totally surprised at where I've been feeling when I went to bed, it's like, I had to get up and puke and vomit, and it's like, it was all black coming, I think it was basically Pepsi, but, and it's like, and I was sweating a bit, and there's I had an echo in the dorm, but not in the toilet, even so, the way I was sweating was a bit too much, and I'm feeling like, oh shit, oh shit, I mean, at least I didn't have to fly the next day, the next morning I felt a bit fragile, I kept nicely and semi-jokingly saying, oh I hope I didn't wake you up, no one apparently noticed, I guess most of the people had had a few beers, not everyone in that dorm was out that night, but I guess they had their own beers or whatever, and I didn't speak to the others. So, it was fine, but three or four times that happened, I woke up in the morning feeling a bit rough, but definitely better, you know, the third or fourth time when I went in the night, and at least the dorm had a private bathroom, and no one else was in it, so I was able to sort of lie on the floor, on the crouch on the floor and everything, and it's like, I was feeling rough in the morning, but better, and I'm thinking, oh, okay, I'm probably going to get, this probably isn't like the Bocas del Toro thing, or the, you know, and fingers crossed, it's been okay so let me just let the voice typing catch up

So Friday, I mean, it was already going to be, not Friday, sorry, Tuesday, it was already going to be the last full day and I knew I had to do some kind of prep and I was feeling rough, it's a shame I didn't get to have any last pupusas or anything, or any beers, but I did chat a bit to people in the dorm that morning and there was a couple of women who were talking about going to El Zonti and I told them where the bus was, I jumped in the conversation briefly while I was still in bed and I had a shower before I got up and I went, er, got a beer. Got a bit of bread and some, there's no big supermarkets in El Tonco, so I couldn't really get great supplies and I got some snacks for the flight in case the shop shut and I didn't feel well later and you know I did the online check-in and that was fine even though I didn't get any emails about it but I did it and fortunately I didn't have to type my passport number or anything I guess because I already booked, gave them that for the outbound flight and it was fine and it turned out I got an ILC on the short flight, I'm about to take it in an hour or two now uh not that that's a huge deal but it's nice I suppose and I seem to have the ALC I paid for on the other flights fingers crossed and you know I went for a little bit of a wander and the heat was a bit more oppressive I asked someone, Hyun guy and he was like no I don't think he's any hotter than it was yesterday but maybe it was just getting to me a bit more uh and I sat around on the terrace a bit and had some dry toast because I got some bread if I didn't already say and a bit of water oh and I had some rehydration fluid just the one sachet which I drank very slowly um I only had I maybe should have had more of them but they all got packed away because what would repack oh and I repacked my bag in the afternoon which is when I discovered that the bloody transmitter and the USB stick had gone missing and then I did ask people a bit in the hostel there was supposed to be some other live music at my paleo, MOP, ELIA and that was the thing and I just speak to people like some volunteer chap and I asked him and like I did I went to that on my own and I drank ginger ale which went down surprisingly well I sat in at the bar it was a bit busy and I wasn't it was all that last night feeling and I've not really got the party vibe on what with the illness and having to go and everything I was there on my own but it didn't feel too bad it's more like well I don't actually see her and I was here and I wasn't really in with the big crowd at the hostel oh I should say that that morning when they were leaving the dorm both the British couple independently invited me to join them on to hike to the lakes but I think they actually didn't do it because some guy they were going to be charged eight dollars for a guide because someone got got killed a month so I go so they've tightened things up but it was really nice of them to ask and maybe that would have got me in a little bit more with the so-called annoying woman and the American guy the party guy and well maybe it would have been a bit fifth wheel but anyway I didn't go and I wouldn't even have been feeling well I might not have done but I was feeling rough enough just my stomach a little bit raw walking down the street to get some supplies so I'm glad I didn't go it was a shame to get invited and not be able to but you know at least the invitation was there and I'm just rambling all over the place so I went to the live music on my own but it was quite busy and there's a lot of people milling around and coming to the bar and trying to get drinks anyway they hadn't been the last night so I had that two gin drills and I went back to the hostel I had a brief chat with that hyun guy before I'm completely mangling his name on I but I did get it right before and it is in the blog correctly uh and he was going off to smoke weed I think I probably said that to someone uh already and then I went back to the hostel so it was probably about half eight and I bumped into the British couple and the party guy and the annoying woman I shouldn't call her that but what else can I say I don't know a name uh outside on the outside on the terrace outside my dorm on the top floor and uh I talked to them a bit and they sort of invited me along and so I thought we were going to go to karaoke but basically we went back to the live music and I was a bit fifth wheelie there but then I wasn't trying to force my way in and then like party guys offering shots of rum to people and I turned it down because it's like I can't really be drinking today and I felt a bit of a party pooper like you know I didn't want to go for poosers later and I said good night to them when that was what they went off to do but you know I had my reasons I wasn't just being an arse I felt a bit of a fifth wheel at the thing but let's say I was stone cold sober and I couldn't really join in the party and I didn't know the group as a whole that well and I could have made more an effort but without trying to without trying to force myself onto them I did have a bit of a half decent chat with the British couple and we looked at some ants and we talked about shit and I think it was quite a nice conversation and then we were going to go back to the karaoke but they wanted to get poosers first and then the place they wanted to go was this was probably getting on for about 10 half 10 it was shut off had no no no stuff so the nice old woman running it was talking to them a bit but they were going to go off and get some poosers somewhere else I couldn't risk eating poosers last night and I said goodbye to that point I didn't actually get to say goodbye to the annoying woman but I did say goodbye to the others and then I walked past my trailer where the karaoke's on they actually had like a screen on the outside so there were people in the street singing and a couple of and probably upstairs as well and a couple of police watching and it was quite a nice looking atmosphere but if I hadn't been feeling sick and you know I might have gone on my own and then they'd have turned up or I would have gone with them or but if it wasn't the last day and the feeling sick so it wasn't it wasn't happening right but it did look quite a nice atmosphere the annoying woman feel quite bad corner that had been like trying to persuade me to sing karaoke earlier but like well what's the worst that can happen you're ever going to see any of these people again and you know I will sing with you if it's a good sign so she was nice don't get me wrong I'm being unfair corner annoying it's just that was one of my initial perceptions so I don't have a name so she was quite nice I guess but anyway it's like she wasn't annoying the same way as the annoying Dutch girl she was a bit older as well I think but anyway but I hope this fucking voice talks because I'm just going on and on and on time so then I went into the hostel and I had four slices of toast and there's maybe one guy sitting around and I just nodded at him and then I went to bed and there was a couple of other people I think a couple of girls in the dorm asleep and I went and had a shower and cleaned my teeth and then I I went to bed let's job typing

So yeah, I mean while we were talking like the rich couple Adam and Liv, sorry not Adam, Alan, they're 26, 27 by the way, they're looking to buy a house when they go back, they do this sort of thing a couple of times a year but, sorry a couple of months a year I think, because I think I already said like he's a freelance carpenter and she does, she's an NHS nurse so she gets to do this bank thing where she can work like crazy and take time off. They showed me a video of them of people like heading down on the Akatunango hike and while I'm probably rose-tinting a bit and there were quite a lot of people up there when I was there it felt pretty, it looked like Piccoli Circus and they were saying like yeah you can't just, he was saying I like to walk down quickly and you just can't because there's just the path and there's people going really slow and it did look really busy. I suspect it was busier than I remember in my head when I was doing it, like our group going up was probably about 20 or 30, maybe not that, I don't know, maybe 20, I don't know, I was probably in the old blog and there were other groups at the top and so when we're actually climbing up we are going up but like I remember distinctly running down parts of the upper bit from the sunrise bit and feeling a bit reckless and enjoying it at the same time and I don't know, just a note, you know everything's going downhill in it but that's just the increased travel. Some funeral parlour adverts, cremation parlour adverts in the regular rotation on the screens here which is mildly depressing, they all are vaguely inspirational quotes on about oh I remember my grandmother telling me stories and it will live in my heart forever. Anyway, like last night, even ignoring any social issues I might have, also as I said the British couple were 26, 27, I don't know about the other woman, I might guess she was mid-30s, the annoying woman and the party guy, he did say because it came up during the Jenga thing the night before, he was probably in his mid-30s but I'm not sure, I mean I was way the oldest but didn't seem to bother anyone overly much I guess but even ignoring any questions of my social skills, my age, whatever, the previous trajectory of the interactions and how well I knew people like last night, even ignoring all that kind of stuff which may or may not have been an issue anyway, I was like I'm glad I made an effort to go out and it was nice of than to try and encourage me to go with them, especially the annoying woman who hardly knew me like and it's like I had my eye on, I had one, you know my stomach, I feel a lot better today, I'm not saying I'm completely over it, I feel a lot better today, at that point you know my stomach's still feeling a little bit rough and I've got one eye on packing and one eye on getting to bed and I can't drink and I can't really eat anything either because I don't want to take any chances because I've got the flight tomorrow, it's not like oh I'll gamble and if I feel shit tomorrow it's not the end of the world, I had the early taxi and the flight and it's like the whole thing, I just had one eye on the clock so to speak so it was a shame but it was never going to be amazing and in a way it's a shame because this group did have kind of a real party sort of drinking and staying out late kind of vibe that would have been really nice to get involved with at other points, that hasn't always been present in other hostels, probably not even for other people I've seen whether I was invited to join or not, so just the way things go until it varies but it wasn't happening, it was logistically it would have been fucking stupid to do it under all those sort of constraints, anyway so I think I'm probably actually more or less caught up now, it's a really bad explanation, I'm not trying to sit here and think what to say and then dictating it and then doing the next bit, maybe I should do that but also the fact that you have to wait while the dictation transcribes, if I was typing this into a virtual voice recorder and then going to transcribe it afterwards maybe that would work anyway it is what it is, it's crap, I think it's probably just about going to be intelligible especially for future me where it maybe augments my faded but not totally dead memories, if some total strangers reading this on the web and after all it is my blog even though there's no real point in it being a blog, that's going to be harder but I hope it is broadly comprehensible, as I keep saying over and over again the main point is just to try and bash stuff out while it's still fresh in my memory rather than looking at things back with the rose tinted or confused or mixed up view afterwards, look let's transcribe this.

So I'm pretty sure some of this Boston Overtime covers playing and stuff. I've heard myself on some YouTube playlists. It's quite cool, I'm just saying. I'm sitting at Gate 5, by the way, because there's no flight from here and it's like, there's quite a bit of space. If anyone is listening, obviously, technically I'm posting this on the web anyway, but not that they are. Anyway, overall, I must admit, although it wasn't for me, El Tunco was a lot better than I thought. I mean, not saying there weren't certainly rough moments, but the hostel did work out pretty nicely. Both at that hostel and in general, I perhaps wish I'd spent a bit more time sitting around in hostels. Maybe I did more, I've just forgotten. It's like, thinking back to, although there was a slight Southern quality about it, when I was sitting there with that Aguadientian coke on the Saturday, Monday afternoon before I was sick, you know, before the night that turned out to go quite well in the end until I got sick. It was kind of nice and the terrace was warm, but not uncomfortable and it felt nice. Like, not every hostel has an environment where even ignoring any social dynamics, it actually feels super nice to sit. It's like, yeah, you could sit here, but do I really want to, even if I'm not, even if I am feeling comfortable? But I don't, anyway, just to note that maybe that is a legit thing to do. I've kind of already evolved to that point of view, but I sometimes feel bad about it or there's social concerns stopping me doing it. Yeah, a little bit more of judicious, no, I'm going to spend an hour or two or this afternoon sitting around at the hostel and just reading or having a drink or whatever might have been nice. It's like, you know, for instance, Rick's courtyard was OK and, you know, if you were chatting to someone, it was fine. But it wasn't somewhere that I think, even if I had no social considerations whatsoever, it was not somewhere that was so inherently nice. I would really want to sit there for hours. But anyway, just saying, Rick's was the Santa Ana hostel, by the way, I probably already said. But I did generally like El Tunco more than I expected. It's small. It was this weird pseudo island feeling with the relative isolation and the lack of decent shops. And I guess the water somehow gives an irrational island feeling. There was definitely a preponderance, not preponderance, a distinct subpopulation of surfer dudes, the kind of people Lucas had mentioned. But there were some older people. I mean, of course, it skews young among the foreigner crowd, but not exclusively young, young, you know. And they say the locals, presumably locals, because it could be like Spanish speaking tourists. I think mostly locals, local visitors, probably local tourists or whatever, they go to all ages and there's a familyish kind of quality to that. So it's quite a nice mix, actually. And I didn't feel monstrously out of place in that sense. I mean, the hostel, obviously, it's a bit different. But even then, you know, at least there were these 30ish people and there were, in fact, a few, probably 50, 60ish people who wandered around the hostel a bit. I never really spoke to, but because they either looked on their own or they were with people or I was in a bad mood or they looked sort of like they didn't want to talk and they didn't look that friendly. But anyway, you know, El Tunco, I mean, I don't know whether I'd ever come back because at some point I probably am going to want to try and take surf lessons for two or three weeks. But apparently it's quite expensive in El Tunco and I don't know that it would necessarily be the best place if you were making a free choice from, say, all of Central and Latin America. If I was going to go somewhere for two or three weeks, I'd have an eye on price and quality and busyness and so forth. But I could imagine going back. I thought I would absolutely hate it. And it was on the whole not perfect. I just wish there'd been a big supermarket or something, you know, but it was nice and compact, actually, and there was some element of nightlife. I mean, yeah, I felt a bit lonely at points, but that's not really down to the place. And to some extent, I did get a bit better with the hostel and if I'd made a bit more effort or been a bit less in end of trip mode, if nothing else, which does obviously have some sort of effect. I mean, overall, yeah, it was much better than I expected.

Just on a more general note, it's like I never used the Bluetooth keyboard, I probably should stop bringing it with me. I mean like in theory fingers crossed it's not going to happen. If the screen on the P7 had got even worse, being able to maybe manage to turn Bluetooth on and use that keyboard to type the password into unlock, it might have got me out of a hole. But I don't think that's generally something that's worth lugging the keyboard around for. In theory it's still a good idea because I hate the on-screen keyboard and the voice typing in different ways. I mean it turns the blog, I mean the blog wasn't interesting before but at least it felt fairly literate and writing is different than typing. I mean yeah the on-screen keyboard does still have the writing quality that's fair but the voice typing does not, it's different. With the writing you're forced to at least be semi-coherent. But I mean of course the on-screen keyboard is perhaps not as bad as I make out but particularly on this trip since the screen started playing up while it is usable and sometimes surprisingly so it also goes wrong intermittently and it makes it extra frustrating and the fact that you type some correct but strange word or name of a place or foreign word and it auto-corrects it and if you're not careful it just gets missed. It's super annoying. I mean I really do wish I could have a hardware keyboard on the phone but you can't have it can you? So even so the carrying the Bluetooth keyboard is in theory a good idea but in practice and it isn't just that I've been lazy obviously now I've got the very vocals and not that I even tried it would be the inconvenience of sitting and using it would be less than when I had to dig my reading glasses out. In practice the chances of having the time and inclination to use it and somewhere where you have a chair and a table at sort of laptop-y kind of height is fairly slim then like yes obviously there are a fair number of digital nomads and just other travelers around with laptops so that sort of thing certainly exists like there were people using laptops on the terrace at Carmemieux but it's also it's not something that's been super common especially in my rooms even when I've had privates where you know it might be I'm not doing much tonight let's sit and type the blog up and even maybe I'm just lazy but digging the keyboard out doesn't generally feel super inviting but as a general rule the limiting factor has been the time and inclination to write something up at that point combined with having somewhere to sit and use the phone plus Bluetooth keyboard like a laptop it is a good idea in theory and I will consider it but I am kind of thinking that for another trip it's not worth bringing the Bluetooth keyboard as I say I don't think I've used it once and I didn't do that to prove a point it's anyway

Nothing new, but I should probably also be strict with myself about not hanging on to every random receipt and shoving them in my blue folder and lugging them around for ages. I'm never going to do anything with them, even in theory, if I was going to do a scrapbook, which I'm normally too lazy to do. Those don't really be needed. It's like there's nothing wrong with keeping the odd paper or a ticket or a wristband. It's not really necessary, but at least those are vaguely low-grade souvenirs that might go in a scrapbook. But I mean, although the odd supermarket receipt might be interesting, I end up carrying so many. They're probably adding some significant weight on that note, although it's not exactly a bad thing and they probably don't weigh very much. I've accumulated so many carrier bags that I don't dare throw away, and it's kind of nice to have them. But there's quite a lot, to be fair. Maybe I ought to weigh them when I unpack the bag. I mean, and I still haven't had enough small plastic bags, you know, litre size, smaller ones, the freezer bags, ones that you might put a key or a few coins in, ones that you might use a packet of peanuts in after you've eaten half of it. Zip lock with the press. I just never have enough. I just cannot get that right. And it's like maybe there's some in the bag that I can't find. I don't think so. It's just really weird. Anyway, just noting some things for future trips. The power bank got loads of use, both phones did. For what it's worth, the A06, the screen is obviously technically fine. It works perfectly. But because it is a low grade phone, and I've maybe got too much stuff on it, although I don't think I've gone absolutely crazy. It's super fucking laggy. And it's like, in many ways, like you swipe up from the bottom of the screen to get to the home screen or get a list of apps. I actually can't remember how it works, but it's semi-intuitive when you're doing it. It doesn't work. It feels a bit like the P7 with its broken screen does, but the A06 is just really laggy. But on the whole, it's done what I need it to. It's added the comfort of a second phone. It's let me put a local sim in it without putting that in the P7. So both phones have had connectivity because the P7's got its travel sim. It's given me Uber access without any worries because it's stock Android. Although I haven't been generally worried about getting mugged or things getting broken or lost, it has let me have a cheaper phone around and I can have WhatsApp on it with no faffing. The WhatsApp via the web on the P7 has in practice worked okay when I've needed it to. But it's not nice to have to rely on that. It's still not ideal to have it on the P7 at all. So on the whole, the A06 has worked pretty well. And despite the initial confusion, it has given me decent signal on at least the networks I managed to use. I was forced onto in both El Salvador and Nicaragua, so while it's laggy as hell and I'm just making the observation that it feels like using the P7 with the broken screen a lot of the time, it has done its job pretty well. And I kind of, it has been good to have the stock Google Android even if it's snoopy as hell. For travel purposes, I can mostly accept that.

1131 just wandered to gate 2 where my flight is showing, still 1305 delayed. But it is getting closer to the original departure time and I irrationally dont like to be too far away.



There is some vague tension to buy a snack or perhaps a coffee but I'm not particularly desperate even if you assume there's absolutely no bodily health issues which probably aren't to be fair at this point but it's like it's not something I need I'm gonna still be killing a lot of time in Bogota I may get a coffee on the plane I'm not desperate I probably won't I mean I have a few dollars cash but that's not an issue of course I probably I suppose I use cash coins to buy that frozen earlier so that was free by my rules almost because I like to incentivize myself to spend coins I have I haven't counted them I've put them in my bag somewhere I have probably about a dollar twenty and small change and no dollar coins and I have some dollar notes obviously I can pay on a credit card which is what I'll do in Bogota because I have no Colombian cash and even if I brought some with me which I probably should have done in case I had wanted to go into town although maybe I thought more clearly about the timing when I was back home probably I didn't just look I should maybe but I wouldn't want to pick up a load of Colombian coins when I'm in the country for five hours and then you're never going to bring them back so I'll be using credit card at the airport as I did on the way out so I could buy on a credit card here but it's like it's just overindulgent and I don't need it and I'm not going to do it but there it and I could have a snack out of my bag as well I'm not really I just had two slices of bread that finished off the stuff that I squashed in because I didn't want to force it down or leave it anyone when it was so small. I'm just rambling like crazy aren't I?

So I've just put my fleece on. I wasn't exactly cold but, you know, I'm wearing the black long sleeve rs top, which would have probably had me sweltering, mildly, in, you know, El Tonco or wherever, but with the air con here, it was just a smidge on the cool side and it's like putting the fleece on. Gives me extra pockets if I want them and it'll come in handy for the flight and it debulks my bag slightly for getting on the plane. I've come back to gate 5, by the way, it's just around the corner and I just want to keep checking in on gate 2. Just some general rambling, it's like, during the trip I've probably watched about, I don't know, an hour and a half of YouTube oh so it's over precise but something like that it's not like I've been super productive indeed obviously to some extent there's been some personal project stuff I wish I could do but can't do because semi deliberately I'm on holiday without a laptop and I'm not supposed to be doing that kind of thing but it's not like I've been super productive but at the same time when I'm at home I will just relax by watching some maybe mildly semi useful but mostly fluff YouTube or something I haven't done anything I have nearly nine weeks right so just an observation that maybe I should try to keep that down a bit over time of course when you're at home it's different the whole the whole pattern of the day is different but you know maybe a lesson there I've been checking in on my handful of social media follows a bit too often but I haven't massively bloated it so that hasn't really got too out of control maybe checking in more than I should but probably no more than I was before I left I keep thinking I mean I wish my Spanish was better to be honest even even without the comprehensible input hypothesis which I have kind of been trying to work on the basis of even without that as a hypothesis it does feel like it would be a huge jump up if even if my spoken Spanish was still a bit clunky and hesitating if I could just understand maybe let's let's rule out super local chat among three or four locals with lots of slang straight away but like if I could be watching you know just normal Spanish everyday Spanish like some when there's a soap opera on the TV or something you know in a hostel as an example or you know some more casual I mean I do do a bit of this of course but you know some some random video content aimed at Spanish speakers of course there's still an attempt to speak clearly mostly it really would be good to just get some more practicing with that sort of thing and improve my vocabulary and so forth because even if I speak clunkily maybe my I should really work harder and I keep saying this and I always say this and I'm too lazy I never get around to it if I could just work harder towards basically unless you're doing something super local and super fast I understand you even if I can't speak very well probably based on the comprehensible input hypothesis I would start to speak a lot better if I could do that but it's like I really do nearly mostly kind of understand everything but there's just that vocabulary or whatever and it's like so I can follow stuff but it's not quite perfect and anyway just just some ramblings and vague inspirational aspirational stuff

Electronic pan pipes version of pachelbels canon playing.

I kind of wish I'd been a bit more chilled in general during the trip, on the other hand to be fair, I've probably not done too badly in that sort of sense a lot of the time, definitely not always, I should maybe just try not to fucking worry too much about socialising and whether I'm doing it right and whether I'm in the right place, I should just go with it, I'd probably get as good results, maybe even better without worrying about it, but it's difficult. I mean, I wish I'd done this sort of stuff when I was 25 or whatever, but didn't. Lots of reasons it wasn't happening right and you know the best thing you can do is what you can with what you have and blah blah blah

I do on the whole, I mean I'm not saying I'm ultra super, I do feel pretty relaxed right now, I'm much better than I was expecting And at least with this delay, if it doesn't get crazy, it does spread the delay out into two different gaps, a bit more evenly so Fingers crossed, I'm obviously not looking forward to getting that tube all the way home and everything and then going to the station tomorrow But it will also be nice to see people, you know, and see their nephew and niece at Easter and stuff like that So I'm just rambling now to fill the time I mean I think we've kind of got the basic gist of the semi-valid aspirational stuff down that I might have learned from the trip I can always say more later I mean it's, I mean all the time mean and like, what can you do, voice isn't writing It's like, it's, I don't think it's just me, it's like You've got, it's, I know we already know this, I think I've probably even said it before, but for what it's worth it's like The time just goes in strange ways, it's like, as I think F3W says, like stuff like just doing your laundry or whatever And you're having to decide where to eat every day and going out to eat and stuff And it eats up the time in a not bad way, but in a very different way than at home You're not literally, I mean, technically you are touristy 24-7 when you're abroad and you're a tourist But you're not actively tourist-ing all the time, you know You might do 2, 3, 4 hours a day of some kind of vaguely explicitly touristy activity Doing a hike, going somewhere, that little side trip to Ozzonti for example But the rest of the time, and it's not even for other people, I think it's not all partying or socialising either It's like, you want to hang around a bit and just do nothing And I guess that kind of happens when you're at home, but because you're at home you It's just easy to sit there and watch YouTube, or if you're a bit more dynamic, work on some personal projects and stuff And that doesn't happen here, and it's just It's a very strange and just different life dynamic in some way I mean, this is not novel or anything, I'm just kind of making the observation And I think to some extent you've got to kind of accept that, although maybe I am being a little bit lazy Life works differently when you are moving around every few days and not at home It's like I've not been great about keeping my exercises up, I've done a tiny bit But I've been doing a lot of walking, and I do think I might have actually lost some weight, but we'll see I certainly don't think I've put tonnes on, but again the scales might prove me a liar.

This is just random waffling and it's probably a bit pretentious and a bit wanky but it's like Both with the trip and when I'm back home, I perhaps need to try and future trips I should probably say I probably need to try not to make things such a fucking chore It's like, you know when I'm going for my swimming in back at home I need to not think oh fuck or I need to not get too worked up about whether I'm making progress or whether it's doing any God or what it's maybe a waste of time. I just need to sort of not think about it so much. I mean take it seriously And think it a bit but not get overworked up. I don't know.


1204 so I think the flight that I'm the inbound version of my flight has just arrived I think I even saw the plane taxi along the runway outside where I'm sitting so that does at least suggest that they'll turn it around and we'll probably will take off more or less at the delayed 13.05 and it's not going to just grow indefinitely so I guess the flight inbound was just delayed for whatever reason so I have plenty of margin in hand and there's fingers crossed it's going to be fine I'm having some salted peanuts that I paid a dollar 25 for at small marketing not to unco late last night they're probably between going home on my own from the live music and then getting back to the hostel and meeting those people again 125 is a bit insane I'm sure I would have got a much bigger bag for not much more money in a supermarket big supermarket but there aren't any you know and it is what it is just saying I don't I'm not starving but I thought I would eat them it'd be something to do and that way if I lose them I get confiscated somewhere like it's immigration or transit through to the air side when I get to Columbia at least I've had something

1209 just seen an ad for "eau so intense" perfume and after the penny dropped I did chuckle at the name.

Music now OK but far more bland.

Gonna go sit at gate 2 now I don't need to voice type so much and now we are getting closer to touch wood departure.

1218 wtaf? We have to go through a second security scanner here at the gate?

1225 ffs. The scan was not big deal but since my passport is in my trouser pkxket with my phone I forgot about my hidden waist belt and it was inside my trousers after I took my waist belt off and I noticed it only when it slid down the inside of my leg after passing throgubhe acanner. It has my vaccine booklet and about two hundred dollars and two bank cards in. That was a bit fucking careless.

Annoying to have to dthos scan and take belt etc off all the same of course, but not actually a big deal.

1241 on plane, no real faff. Been given a printed boaring pass which changed ny aeat but I didn't pay and it is still asile. Btheybqrw doing the fucking "roller bags only in overhead lockers" shit again as if I should suffer because my bag doesn't have wheels despite being a fair size and me having paid just the same, so I am ignoring them and if they spot it I will politely argue and give in if I have to. If they said personal items under seat (as they so), no
Problem but ny main bag is just as big and just as valid as hand luggage as a roller bag. Ok maybe it is actually smaller, but why should I be worse off because of that? It is still too big to fit comfortably under the seat in front without eating into my leg room. I do have my day-pack under seat in front as I should.

If they just said "large bags" in the overhead rack ot would be fine but they keep insisting on saying "wheeled bags". Maybe they would not really try to make me put my big backpack under the seat.

A319 btw. Confused conversation just now with crw member about whether the srats next to me are fre. Err, shouldn't they know? I was not rude but
Probably appeared rather confused and also bad at Spanish  but the whole thing was a bit unexpected.

Overhead bin has been shut on my bag so that is probably OK. Fingers crossed.

1315 in air, middle seat free, all ok.

1627 el Salvador /1727 Bogotá airside at El Dorado, no problems, we got bus from the terminal and the international connections. Security bits seemed to be closed but there was a sort of route through, I followed the crowd and we seemed to clear the regular security bit without going through the prior immigration bit. No one's checked my boarding pass but obviously I'm here. So yeah, just got to wait until the flight presumably. It's not on the screens yet but presumably it's fine, well I've not seen it anyway. My stomach's churning a little bit but nothing too bad, we got a coffee and a few cookies on the plane, you got a choice, that's what I had. Everything's basically fine, I realise I could probably buy some Duty 3 here but I don't particularly want to, to be honest, although it's nice to get a souvenir, I haven't really drunk much of the, what was it, agua diente. I bought when I was here last time proper and especially since this trip wasn't to Colombia, it's not like buying something from here, it would be a massive souvenir and then I have to squeeze it into the bag and who knows if it's really cheap, so no, not particularly tempted.

1748 that's Columbian time, I'm voice typing this at the charging point, there's a few people around but no one really cares, I just called mum, just for quick chats, everything's fine, stomach's still grinding a little bit but nothing major, I'll get a coffee in a bit but obviously there's no rush. I didn't see the thing on the boards as I was going through the international connections, passageways, but I didn't hang around and maybe the other screens would show it, mum had it up and she says it was showing us on time. Basically everything's fine, I've just got to grind out this extra bit of time but at least it's been a little bit distributed differently. I think I already said a million times but given the time I got here, even if the flight had been on time from El Salvador, I would not have been going into town, I'd been thoroughly confused about it being during the day, it's much more of an evening layover. It was pleasantly cool actually when we got out of the plane, I suppose it's the altitude and maybe the late time of day but it was sort of warm but pleasantly cool outdoors which felt a bit odd after being in an opt-unco and so forth for a few days. I'm topping the P7 up so I can maybe watch some film, I did watch a bit of video on the flight over on the P7 using the phone stand so that got some use of the phone stand in the headphone case. Anyway, yeah, I'm just gabbling, so let me transcribe this and stop.

I suppose that did at least mean I got a tiny bit of fresh air rather than being in airport terminals and planes for over 24 hours.

1804 guts churning slightly but not too bad. Had some Mani garapinado. Been trying to get p7 topped up and will go for a wander and fill my water bottles and check flight status screens etc soon.

1822 being the toilet, nothing came out the backside, guts are still churning a bit, but nothing major, I guess, it's not like it's not happened before. The flight's still not on the screens, I just looked on some random website, there's an official QR code, which just takes you to a WhatsApp page. So anyway, as far as I can tell, the gate isn't on this external site yet, maybe it hasn't been announced, wouldn't be too surprising. This flight's up to about 23.05, showing on the monitor, but mine's a bit later than that, so anyway, just keep wandering round a bit. I'm going to go for a bit of a walk, because I just cannot keep sitting all that time.

1838 flight's come up, gate A3 on time, just been at the bog again, I feel a bit bloated, maybe I shouldn't have had those peanuts and their food on the flight, I don't feel terrible, it's like I'm farting a little bit but not sharting so it could be worse. I'm just going to wander round a bit, there is a chemist here but I'm not overly convinced that e.g. some indigestion tablets will do a bit of good, but they might, Al, not in a huge rush, I'm going to wander round for a bit and see what happens. Not too worried, I mean it might not be pleasant but I don't think it's going to be a huge deal, anyway just saying.

2115 okay, I was feeling a tiny bit, like I said, I walked round a bit and that certainly helped fart in a bit, I also got some medical advice from an LLM and some methicone was suggested, I went into a couple of pharmacies here, the first one I asked, I did quite well with the Spanish and the guy said, oh yeah, yeah, this, and I said, how much is it, he says it's so much Colombian pesos, and I said, what's that in dollars, it's $38 for just a packet, I was like, no, I said, no, it doesn't hurt that much, thanks, and it didn't, and I wandered round, I went into the pharmacy, but I didn't actually speak to anyone there, but they had a lot of stuff on the shelves, and nearly all the kind of things that might have contained that or that might have helped me were in the same price range, even aspirin was like about 10 quid, so no, I'm not that desperate honestly, I feel much better now, I also went and found a group of seats that didn't have armrests on and laid down on them for about half an hour, 40 minutes, I called mum, I called mum while I was doing it, been to the toilet, filled both my water bottles up, we're getting sort of close to flight time, so I'm going to walk down and have a look at the gate and see if I need to lie down near there or whatever, yeah, everything's basically fine, the flight, oh, oh, there's a gate change, it says B6 to A3, but it's always been saying A3, so I don't know what's going on there, but it is otherwise showing as on time, so yeah, anyway, I'm wandering around talking to myself like an idiot, so I should not worry, so I think lying down did help, never actually laying down I think on a set of seats at the airport, I used my bag as a pillow, not because it was terribly comfortable, but to stop losing it, and although I wasn't even trying to sleep and I didn't, I set an alarm on my phone almost a minute or two after I'd laid down, which I was doing mainly to ease the pain, not pain, the bloat, and it did help, but I was lii've come back over to the charging point not far from the gate, the gate looi've come back over to the charging point not far from the gate, the gate looked quite busy but then it's not a huge seating area for a relatively big plane so I'm kind of hoping the flight won't be too rammed and there won't be any shit about non-wheeled bags in the upper racks or something. The flight's still on time so I can say it wasn't saying boarding, I mean no one's seen a boarding pass but then I've got a boarding pass and why should there be a problem? I'm not even sure they would have checked it if there had been other security, I'm just being super paranoid. I'm not feeling too bad, not brilliant, I cleaned my teeth, couldn't floss because the floss which I've brought out with me and have used more or less every single night, I don't think I flossed the night I was sick for example, I might have missed the odd night, I flossed pretty much every single night and there was like two inches of floss when I went to pull it off to do it now so that's not too bad but I did at least clean my teeth. I haven't had a Juan Valdez coffee here because stomach's feeling a bit ropey and I want to save my endurance for eating something on the flight against LLM medical advice what it's worth but if the food's edible I'm probably going to eat it. I might have a beer as well because I'm stupid and I can't pass up a free beer but play it by ear. Anyway so I'm here topping up the P7 which is at 59% because I've been using, I watched a little video on it and been using it a bit. The A06 was at 80% and it hasn't had much use and I've got the power bank which I've put in my day pack. I'm probably going to put the fleece on, it's relatively warm in this airport and I've been taking, I had the fleece off most of the day which is slightly annoying because it means it bulks my bag out but I'm going to wear it on the flight and I'm going to wear it when I go to the gate so as to avoid the bag looking any bulkier than necessary. I'm probably also going to just carry my little day pack for under the seat separately so I do have the two bags and then the main bag does look a bit smaller although that might backfire if someone then says oh it can go under the seat, anyway sorry I'm rambling but yeah I think the lie down did help and I'm not feeling too bad, I'm not feeling 100%. video on it and been using it a bit. The A06 was at 80% and it hasn't had much use and I've got the power bank which I've put in my dayd it hasn't had much use and I've got the power bank which I've put in my day

The screen touch invisible mobeku moved the cursor during that. The very end of the sentence should be earlier on. I hope it's fairly clear from context. I'm not trying to fix it now. The flight I had didn't get any more charging because there was an incomprehensible from that distance announcement. I've had to come over. Boarding starts in five minutes. It's fine. I've got the power bank to top the phone up and it's at 60%. I've got another phone.

2145 I am in group of so probably one of last one, which seems a bit silly when my seat is right at the back. But it is always thus and apart from aviancas wheeled bag obsession it makes little real difference, and indeed the less time I am sitting on the plane the better since the seating is all preallocated anyway

2215 on plane. Got my seatt. Bag in overhead rack and only modest repetitons of the insane wheeled bag policy. Seat seems to have full recline based on appearances and (not that I picked it for thos and I do feel fine) it is of course handy for the toilet.

Flight seems fairly full. Broadly speaking all seems ok. Fingers crossed.

2218 just seen a cabin crew member helping someone push all kind of jute brown woven material "reusable carrier bag variant" into the overhead locker, despite it almost certainly having no wheels.



2221 and she just suggested a guy put a bag very like mine in a certain overhead bin. Maybe sanity actually prevails in reality despite their very specific and  arsey wording, which I don't think I am just being pedantic in interpreting, since they do explicitly go out of their way to talk about wheeled bags in both Spanish and English.

My bags bin has been shut as well which is also reassuring.

B787 btw

9h10m flight time mentioned.

Thu 0021 these times are probably el Salvadoran lately as I was copying off phone flock as o wrote and it hasn't updated. Anyway. Just had dinner. Hope don't regret it but not bad teriyaki pork and rice brewd roll with butter, bit of cake and a small sprite and small white coffee. Left some possibly ok but not in mood to gamble rice salad thing I wasn't asleep but did have eyes shit and may have missed the newly service but cabin crew presumably on the
Alert for this - kudos - and one asked me what I wanted  alterntive was cheese pasta.

No films of real interes, liste ing to music quietly. Hope to fall qlseep. Thighs hurting on seat for whatever reason. Right now guts feel 90% ok.

Could have had wine but saw other
People ordering sprite and it felt like best idea  so no alcohol.

Thu 0755 Colombian time queueing for not really needed toilet butwe may be landing in about an hour and I'd rather avoid massive queues or wasting time lanside.

Feel roughl but 90%+ of it is that dehydrated slept on a plane feeling. Had omlette for breakfast and coffee and not feeling too bad. About an hour who was half awake and  the engines were giving a "I am on a truck or bus and we have stopped moving and the engone is idling very roughly vibe.

So overall things are not that bad. Eyes feel dryish, been drinking bit of water intermittently.

1655 got home pretty easily all things considered. The automatic gates at Heathrow worked, got a tube almost straight away at all connections, didn't make a precise note but was probably home by about 1600..

Am going to send this now before anything happens to it.

Monday, 23 March 2026

San Salvador-El Tunco and El Tunco, Sunday

Sat 0836 got a free coffee, sitting on terrace. Some guy, probably a guest was doing a half decent piano cover of a song I did recogniae and have a brief recording of on the piano.

Didn't sleep more, didn't feel praxtical.

1011 went out for money, got 300 USD fee free (I hope) on Barclaycard at an atlantida, neither chase nor starling cars would even work. Barclaycard definitely MVP of the trip though the shit with the cash limit and how hard it is to pay off to keep it working damages it. Had v quick wander onto parquet cuacatlan on way back, some genuinely mildly relaxed "sat morning in san Salvador" thoughts. Have95% packed, will have some peanuts and water here and then go.

May be more money than I need but i don't want to go back having drawn down on my USD stash and I am not too on top of it but within reason having a fair wosge of USD is helpful for future trips despite inflation concerns holding cash.

1025 it is physically cool here inside hostel and I half don't want to go. But really the sooner I get to et the sooner I can start to settle in, maybe get laundry sorted (especially important if I dont stay Monday night, and weekend may get in way hefe), etc.

For once only taking it 600ml water, my long term disposable litre bottle is empty (it is there for purification of a known litte if I need it) nd finishing the last litre of volcano trip water just now. Bag is a bit bulky due to bad packing and repacking bjt not too bad.

I do feel better for having got some cash too.

Of course I could have got less since either was fee free but far from convinced I will be able to get fee free in el tunco and in any case excpet for theft risk (fingers crossed) it is not really too much cash. And I still have four days to go.

1027 ok, let's move out.

1100 on 102a. I did politely argue the toss but the driver insisted as per sign about extra luggage that my bag pays the same 1.50 I have to pay. Despite their being luggage racks! And despite me saying I would put it on my knee. This is probably just general arsery company policy rather than him but it still feels an utter fucking rip off. It is not as if my bag is particularly large (35 litres even with the extension zone in use, as it is now, iirc). Nothing to be done obviously. I shall however do my best to keep my bag on a seat now, since it paid for one for no reason. I was carrying it and it is huatpossivle had I been wearing it this wouldn't gave happened but it provably would. It isn't a lot of money hut this feels like an utter piss take, iirc no other bus in el Salvador or nicaragua has charge me extra for my bag.

1108 excessively pissed off about this. Nothing to be done. May leave a snide review somewhere but otherwise can't be helped they clearly do it because they can. I do wonder if I might have squeaked under the pisstqke line had I not had the extension collar up but with the bad packing and no time or space to really repack and to a limited extent the bulk of the empty 1 litre water bottle and the bit of extra food left over from the volcano that wasn't feasible.

Anyway, not a big deal but I now bear  the bus company ill will. Scumbags.

1133 put my bag in the rack where it fits just fine to let someone else sit down. My ire is directed at the chiseling bua company not another passenger  but this does make me feel even more that the charge was a piss take.

1211 interminable delays in la libertad.not quite sure why.

1240 something is ducked. Lots of people got off. So not only have I paid double, the service is shit and I have no idea how or when I will be moving on. Still about an hours walk away!

Absolutely no fucking idea what is happening and the incrdidbly loud (but not bad) music continues to play despite me and the driver being the only people here  he has just turned it down as I write this  no one has told me anything, not even in misunderstood Spanish.

1245 I strongly suspect I am being shafted given everyone else got off but what can I do?

I feel more stressy than I'd expect. At a fucking push an hours sweaty walk along the doubtless extremely busy and safe beachront road is not the end of the world. I am not on a huge rush  albeit this is not the nice relaxed day I was expecting and it would help if I didn't think the driver was an utter fucking C* after the double charge. There is also a bloodymindedness where I have overpaid these fuckers to take me somewhere and I fucking want taking.

It is completely unclear what is going on. Traffic is moving. The bus engine is running.

Lamento boliviano playing.

I don't know why we have to have the fucking doors open to make it warmer. Feeling decidedly edgy and almost panicky in a way which is not justified by the circumstances. I felt a bit trapped and shitty on the bus from hell yesterday when the aisle was rammed and the fucker in front reclined and it was hot and we were absolutely fucking nowhere near the destination and I knew if I got off somehow I'd end up even worse off on the next bus and time was grinding away etc etc. That was a bit (not world endingly) shit.

This is a lot more tractable in reality. The driver has not remotely tried to explain anything to me. I am not talking to the fucking bastard if I can help it at this point. But I feel OK - a bit of tightness from getting worked up in stomach, no more - and I have plenty of time and am within walking distance of the destination at a fucking push.

And to be clear despite arguing politely I paid the driver the double fucking fare and we didn't have a Barney as such. He has no justification for acting like this.

I am not sure there were any other tourists on this bus, possibly one or two but no one absolutely massively obviously so.

Another 102A just drove past fwiw.

I have literally no idea what we are waiting for.

I think I probably need to say that I will hang on til eg 1330 and then see what happens.

1253 fuck it I might ask what is happening when he gets off the fucking phone to his mum.

1410 at hostel. Fucking livid  had to walk an hour. Driver said been an accident, no idea why the fuck he hadn't told me, had to wait for an inspection. I said could I get another bus he said yes  I said could I use those tickets he said yea. I said did he need to make them on anyway to explain this  he said no. Walked off. Much much later along baking hot thundering highway I flag sowba nother bus. Driver refuses to take the tickets  even though the one he is trying to sell me has the exact same logo in. All the local on the bus find this most anusingm he keeps driving and I have to ask him to let me off as I am fucking not paying yet again. So I had to walk. There is very little I can do about the fucking cints but I will do my damndest to avoid paying them on the return route and I will at least leave a shitty but calm Google maps review, which is about all I can do about it.

I really hate the people in the hostel, I am already beog  ignored by two people in the dorm as I write this and there is something of that general surfer vibe. The owner or manager woman seems nice though and we will see what we can do.

I am going to have a shower. I am at least in a lower bunk and there is aircon.

1813 I perked up a bit this afternoon (pupusas, Hombres G Te Quieto and then Frijolero played)  but the hostel dorm is still fill of people sleeping and smug young things lounging around discussing surf lessons in the common area and I don't even k ow if I can take a beer in. I may try sitting there tomorrow afternoon  got a shitty like 330ml (yes, not even 350ml) pilsener for 1 50 at a kiosk bar and cone down to the nicroaxopix rocky beach for sinsetm. It isn't even my bad moos, unless something tlchanfea the sunset is massive nothingburger. The sun sets behind some headland to the west, not the big rock. No real colour. They wky is pale grey blue with a very slight tongue of pink in the horizon (the photos look massively more orange). Unless something changes dramatically as it actually gets dark there is literally nothing remotely impressive.

The rock is mildly cool in itself though to me it looks more like a rwcloning human figure on stomach with a rectangular rock next to it  than a pig. The head (to the left even seems to have some stylised nose, mouth and ears.

The one consolation is that despite last noghts chat not being too bad I don't really regret not staying in that hostel another night. And maybe a few beers tonight will cheer me up and there is air con in the dorm and I have all day tomorrow and maybe all day Monday if I want it, although I am going to do my damnsest not to give the fucking company that runs the 102a a single fucking penny of my money on the return journey even if I have to cut my own nose off to spite my face. I wouldn't piss on them if they were on fire right now. The journey today was a fucking triple whammy of insult added to injury - charge me double, don't deliver the provided service so I have to walk and be as rude and fucking don't give a shit as possible the whole time. Two fucking drivers were unhelpful and rude. Scumbags.

1827 there is a little of the sunset color reflecting off the water and no sinse tis really truly bad, but honestly I really feel this is nothing special. I will wait a bit before going somewhere for a drink.

I really don't want to (would be nice to see Diablo rock in san salcador ans it feels vaguely risky with an earlyish flight) but this place is maybe nearly as close to the airport as san Salvador is, and going directly from here to airport might be one way to avoid a semi-miserable last night in san salcador ans to avoid paying the 102a people to return. Not saying will so it just cos of that, had lightly toyed with rpsopect at seeing map other day before the bus fickup.

1830 some orangey pink color and it isn't bad but again I just don't see anything particularly special, nothing worth of the way it seems to  be treated as "a thing" here.

The reclining human figure even seems to have a bum in the middle to go with the head/torso and legs below knees/feet sticking up.

1844 just seen a moderately large hermit crab on beach  sunset continues to be nothing special and I am going to see if I can find a bar. Have this horrible "Saturday night, tomorrow will be dead, choice matters make or break" vibe but tbh I will probably ly accept overpriced shitty 330ml bottles and maybe bar hop a bit without hopefully being too drunk unless I an having a good time.

1919 been wandering, all shit. Lost the plastic washed fixe on one of my flipflopa and it keeps coming loose. Having an expensive but nice suegra ipa at guitar. But I am unlikely to stay. All the other bars look like of shitty especially solo. I feel sticky and shit.

Walked past the broken bit of walkway along beach but that area is dead as fuck, monkey lala seemed deserted. Bar which isn't a bar looks vaguely interesting but despite being nominally open and a woman sitting inside doing paperwork it has a red rope over the doorm

Sitting at bar here but it isn't likely to do any good. The bar is guitar body shaped, which is a
Mildly cool gimmick.

I don't feel chirpy, I feel like a sad old loser. But not even that. I dunno. I dunno if it's just the aftermath of the bus fuckers.

A basic pilsener is the cheapest beer here at 2.50.

1925 nice enough beer but this clear isn't the place for me tonight  let us wander and lose our flip flop every few metres. The washer doubtless got kicked offagaonst a stone or something in the dark and I'd don't twig at first.

1947 i'm actually losing it a bit. I wandered back to the hostel because I was just passing and I thought I'd go ahead and wash my hands because they felt all sticky and while I was there I put my slightly dirty socks on from today and my shoes because it's quite not that hot at night, well it is hot to be honest, but anyway. With the thing coming loose and losing the washer there's no real benefit from wearing them tonight and there's quite a lot of young people hanging around the hostel  maybe for all I know  waiting to go out later,  anyway I've come back out. I think I went into El Baca, what's it, near the corner of the beach, went upstairs, there's a live band on but nearly all the tables are reserved and I don't think it's sort of a place they want some guy occupying a table of four having a beer and I left, it doesn't really feel that great anyway. So I went into the hostel and there was no one in the dorm, it was nice and cool even though the aircom wasn't, I must have been on recently. So I washed my hands and I had a piss and I left my bag and my cap there and I had some water. There is actually a cold water dispenser with a bottle in the dorm which is kind of nice I suppose. And I've come back out and I went into me trailer of a sort of pirate bar and there was one guy upstairs watching some wrestling and I think his girlfriend turned up a minute later. It's like maybe but it wasn't even cool up there physically, wandering a bit more, it's like I think I've come to monkey lala which wasn't where I thought it was but Jesus it still doesn't seem appealing. Honestly, it's like there's nowhere that I even particularly like to look off, it's not even the pricing. The whole thing is just, I mean maybe I'm just in a bad mood but I don't think I'm that blatantly in a bad mood. I'm just going to keep wondering but for fuck's sake, I mean maybe it gets livelier later, maybe I am just in a bad mood but I find it really kind of hard to imagine that if you're in your twenties and you're coming with a group of friends, this is like party fucking central. It's like sure you can get pissed anywhere you want but I just cannot see what about the atmosphere here would make this like oh my god, yeah piss up here, this is the fucking bee's knees, I really just can't see it for fuck's sake. Anyway, but never mind 20 year olds, I'm not feeling it and I don't even think it's because I'm in a bad mood. Anyway, let's keep wondering if I can find somewhere half decent for a beer, a couple more might twist my mood around or I can always try again tomorrow but anyway I just thought I would write this since I'm not missing much by standing outside of the street voice typing this.

2014 at Morelia which is quiet but not empty and sort of nice getting a five dollar cadejo mera belga. This place even advertises itself as a "quiet place". Not likely to be remotely social but still, somewhere to go and an interesting beer.

2032 the mb is ok, perhaps trying to be a blue moon or hoegaarden but it is a bit warm and ok and worth trying but not setting my taste buds on fire.

I may go for a wander after this. There is a not super promising bar which has karaoke at 9. I don't know what I expect or want. It just feels like even if I felt annoyed or bitter or jealous or alone or old, I expected it to be lively as fuck here - maybe a bit like pio nono in Santiago - and it isn't. Maybe it all kicks off later but I am far from sure anywhere stays open past 1 anyway.

But wth, let us see what happens.  And tomorrow I can hang around in hostel with a full day on hand and maybe feel less stroppy after the bus thing recedes and maybe message hostelworld geoip to see if anyone wants a beer or maybe some chat will happen in hostel. Unless I am missing some performance in centro historico main square like one near start of trip or a lang exchange, I am probably no worse off than being in san Salvador  there may have been limited social potential at the SS hostel but I am not crying into my expensive craft beer about the lost opportunity.

Incidentally luke hired a car not a bike at ricks. His dad used to do motocross and basically told him not to fucking hire a bike with no leathers etc.  And as he says, you see so many tourists who have fallen off and hurt themselves. Since he is youngish and I think a mechanic and not particularly timid seeming this made me feel oddly better to hear.

Place might be mopelia.

Will leave shortly. May come back another night or day. Monday here is not ruled out by any means but not deciding anything tonight.

La Bocana is the place with live music where I didn't feel I could really get a table.

2042 anyway lets go.

2337 been dosn barba blanca bar and karaoke (didnt sing tho tempted) and it has been good, maube it is more me than othera bit to be jonest the night ferls like it is fallong aparte and isnt so fun and the crowd not so ibited singong a long and so con and i may go home shortlym was worried eafliwr about gettijg un bit i managed to whatsapp and got trassuredm the shtlit typing is not drinkenness bit jist bashong thoa out con onnscreen keyboard because life sucks, bit i thonk it OS clear rven if utterlu illitetate. Yo be fair o was accidentally typing in Spanish predictive mode after sending those eMessages about whether I could get into dorm or not.

Bit slight falling apart now (the bar doesn't really seem to be closing) this has been a fun I'd technically still BNM night singing along even if not talking to anyone except staff a bit and I have practiced my spanish and learned some new songs and words to songs I had heard before. Not absolutely fucking amazing but not bad and way better than it seemed. Bit of a shame the way it feels now but not a huge deal

Knocked scab off right wrist on belt earlier which is a ficker but it seems to be mostly ok

The mural on the wall reminds me of alva majo ambidextro artwork.

Ot feels less spanish now and more international and american and canadiqn vibe and perhaps that spoils it for me a bit. Earlier quite a lot of English singing but it was locals. Not that the other gringos are singing much but overheardlong their chat etc feels a bit less spanish and "exotic" and like I am somewhere spanishy.

We have also had several Spanish songs repeated for the second time over the last hour which also feels a bit crap.

I am provably going to fuck off in 10-15 mins unless I really start having more fin. I am relatively sober and haven't had a beer in a while  paying two dollars as I go so can leave whenever. In the unliekl] event anywhere appeals on way
Home I may try it, I am not sober but by no means pissed.

I can't even see the words reliably for the fucking tall Canadians standing right in front of me.

Well they are fucking off but if they even turned up this late I don't think that says much for the rest of the nightlofe, they are yoing.

There is also a raucous group of English spewker just to my left after some - yay el Sol no regresa, I had considered singing this - sllocals left, one from san francisco and that feels shit.  Let me song along.

Yeah, she sang pretty well and a few people singing along but I think it is objectively not like it was earlielr.

Me brightside Now. Again will sing along but as soon as we get a shit song I am off  it isn't what it was

2355 ok, there is a sort of vibe going but it isn't what it was. I am not absolutely milking it now but it really isn't the same.

I am not drunk. I feel pretty sober. This is ok but a group of not bad but drunkish young Americans are keen to sing and as I say it just doesn't feel the same I. There is a lovely black cat here intermittently which did let me stroke it, just seen it again. I honestly don't even want to scrape acquaintance wothbanyone

Someone knocked a beer bottle off bqlcony I think during el Sol no regresa and it was a bit of a shock down here

It is still plenty busy and I am as I say (honestly) not pissed but it just isn't fun any more. I can get pissed any time I want and no point forcing it. And perfectly decent Spanish song trampa is now on for the second time. Ok, changed but fuck it. This isn't fun now and I don't want to try to make it fun by scraping acquaintance or getting drunk. I am gonna walk home  be open to unlikely chance of something en route and bed otherwise.

0002 left. Whether it was me or the bar, it stopped being fun, so no point in staying. I can drink another night, I can do somewhere else, I can do something another night, drink when I get home, I can have fun lots of times. It wasn't a bad night, overall, all things considered, especially considering how things were going earlier. And I'm wandering the streets now and doing the voice typing, and it's not like places seem super lively. I do suspect most places shut at one, and I honestly don't think this is the mega party place it's made out, even if you're 20 and you've got a lot of friends with you. Anyway, whatever, it's not a bad night, overall. Just a slight shame, it ended like that, but it's not like I had a row with anything, the tone just changed. I'm walking the streets, an old woman just trying to beg something off me, I feel a bit guilty for not giving her something, but there's lots of drunk idiots about. It's, it's, the streets are still certainly busy, but I'm really not getting this vibe of massive ongoing party with everyone else. It's like, I mean, you know, there is music in some places, but I don't know, maybe everywhere's open till five. I don't know, but I'm not sure I'm in the mood, even as the places are, and to my mind it feels more like people are still the nights winding down with an hour to go, it's totally plausible. Anyway, I'm just rambling now as I walk home, I should probably stop, probably look a bit weird, but to be fair, talking to your mobile these days is hardly strange, is it? No one can hear what I'm saying, but anyway.

Yeah, I mean I just can't tell if I'm projecting, like there are a lot of people in the street who snapped a couple of photos to try and get the atmosphere. It's pretty busy but at the same time everyone's heading against the flow, against my flow, right, it's me as I wander back towards the hostel. It feels like people are maybe streaming away from the beach and the beach places towards bed. I mean as I say there could be some massive after party I don't know about and I'm just projecting all this but it's like lots of people are still out. I'm sure there's things going on for an hour or so but it also does not feel like there is some absolute mad fucking party happening. You know, it's whatever, I mean maybe there's something behind closed doors somewhere but yeah, these are just my observations, it's fine. I'm reasonably satisfied I had a fairly good night, it was technically Billy No Mate because I didn't really speak to anyone but it was still nice to be at the karaoke bar and there always feels a nice atmosphere. Didn't like the way the tone would change, it wasn't bad, it just wasn't fun and stupid to milk it as I keep saying and yeah.

Sun 0010 so I've got into the hostel I had to slide the door around a bit, but I got in as expected no one around Maybe they're all out partying or maybe they're all in bed. I don't know what dorms gonna be like Anyway, it's fine. Honestly, I I'm just repeating myself, but I'm not I'm not even lying There's a woman walking home with her head torched on the other side of the river from looking for the balcony The view is quite nice, but it's a weird river sort of ends at the beach with a bit of a sandbank, but So, yeah, I don't know but someone's just coming up now.

Was a yoifgish woman  I prob just looked dlie I was on phone. Said goodnight and cone into dorm. Which is empty as it was earlier. But I had no expectation of joing any epic party and I still continue to doubt there is anything amazingly epic going on on general grounds. I am yawning too, be it age or ongoing shit or beer  I an gonna do teeth and go to bed and will be interested to see when people come on if that wakes me

0022 fuck it  just had epic, whiny hunt for my toothbrush and toothpaste in the bag, I was going to come out and have some peanuts, which I am now out doing. I feel oddly pissed off that no one else seems to be back, but I am pretty fucking sure that there's nothing major going on. And I wasn't invited and I haven't met anyone, and it's fine and I'm not on a bad night. I'm just oddly pissed off. But anyway, what I'm really pissed off about is a hunt around for the toothbrush and toothpaste, which I couldn't find because they were buried at the bottom of the bag. Because of all the recent repacking and unpacking and strange packing and the bags not packed like it normally would be with the toothbrush and the toothpaste in the bathroom, net bag. Anyway, I've come back out onto the balcony now and I'm going to have some peanuts because I was vaguely tempted by some street food on the way back, but I didn't because I wasn't that tempted anyway. So I'm going to have these nuts now and then I'm going to go to do my teeth and go to bed. And I do feel a bit bad and weird that no one else seems to be home except that young woman who was coming up the stairs when I was talking earlier, but fuck it.

0029 finsished nuts  slightly cool sitting out on bqlxony outside room in near dark and peace. But teeth and bed. Tomorrow is another day and a full one here and I may well stay Monday too but no rush to decide. Tonorrow at least features iced coffee and ice cream and pupusas and no fucking buses at all under any circumstances, so cannot be all bad.

0042 in bed, still got the dorm to myself, I'm going to turn the light out, don't worry if someone turns it on when they come in, but they probably won't. Maybe people are out all night, but it doesn't matter, that wasn't for me tonight, for multiple reasons. Erm, air comes quite nice, I don't know what the bed's like really, but it'll be fine, at least I've got a socket by the bed so I can charge in the night. I'll probably set an alarm for like 10 o'clock as I kind of fall back, maybe 11, but I'll probably be up before that, but anyway, I think that's it for tonight.

0922 awake in bed. Been semi awake for a while. Someone has left dorm door open and semi nice green view through it. Aircon is also on which seems wasteful but not my problem.

Didn't sleep super well - bit cold and sheet not quite big enough due to being tucked in at bottom - but also not too bad. Istr people did come in maybe 0130ish. Did feel a bit thirsty etc in night and had some water and had a piss (floor by toilet is perpetually wet btw, I suspect a leak not piss but still annoying) but not massively drunk or hungover or sick. Usual waking up and going back to sleep and drifting off and turning phone on to read book and finding I am on the same page as I keep falling asleep before I read it etc.

I may get up in a minute, it is nice to have a day with nothing really to do and not to have to get up but equally no point overdoing it.

Shoulders and arms and hands a bit "numb" from lying on them at funny angles.

Don't really regret last night. Yes something more directly social might have been nice but I can't make it materialise out of nowhere and I didn't want to miss out on a potentially good sunset or whatever by desperately hanging round the hostel hoping for chat last night. Today I will naturally I think hang round a bit more (eg I might get a bottle of coke and drink it), I plan to take the day pretty easily, and I just may put a message on hostelworld for the town asking if anyone fancies a beer.

1004 just had shower and getting dressed. Going to go outside (room, maybe hostel) with A06 for a bit. Will leave p7 in lkcker.

1457 got laundry back, 3 USD as told (1 per pound  half what some other places charge), all ok, three tops, 1 trouser, 4 pairs underwear. So I am now set for rest of trip.  I already had one clean top and if necessary can probably also swueezed some more use out of the red SS Tshirt especially forel evening wear and if I give it a water only wash.

1932 okay, I'm always typing this a bit surreptitiously and weirdly at Pu-chi-ca, yeah I'm gonna stay here another two nights, I've been dithering but let's just recap the day briefly. So I got off, I wandered down to the beach and I had a look at people in the surface and it's kind of interesting, felt some kind of vague wish I'd done it but you know, now is not the time, with two days left and I'm feeling a bit tired, I want to do it cleanly if I do do it plus I was doing kitsurfing.

It was low tide and you could actually get all the way out to the El Tonco Rock. I did go near it I didn't start scrambling around on it, but one guy sort of did. Although he was wearing shoes rather than broken flip-flops I think I then went and had scrambled eggs for breakfast here at Puccicar again. I went and had a lado frappe fitting a Neveira and I took the container back home with me, washed it out in the hospital sink. They were actually using scissors. So I've made two big plastic washers, which are hopefully going to help keep the flip-flops on. Seems to be working so far more or less.

I also bought a one-and-a-half litre bottle of Pepsi on the way back at a small shop, which had a very fierce air-com, which was very nice. And I had that in the hostel while I, after I'd mended, made the washers and mended the flip-flops, and I was chatting with some LLMs and looking for stuff online, trying to decide what to do. So I had the Coke, Pepsi, sorry, then I went and picked the laundry up and went back. What did I do then? I mean, it's been kind of quiet quite a day. I think I wandered round a bit and I had a coffee. And, yeah, I just wandered round. I'd been feeling a bit low, but basically, I think, speaking to LLMs, it was also kind of what I was going to do. Staying Monday night was already strongly on the cards. Not, honestly, not particularly to avoid these bloody bus people. It is actually almost basically as close to the airport here as San Salvador. Yes, it would be nice to see Puerta del Diablo, but it can wait for another trip. What I'm kind of thinking is just before I came out, I spoke to the woman just before I went out for sunset to ask, and she said, yeah, $15, which is cheaper than the hostel was. And just as I came out now, I paid $30 to get another two nights, also just jumping all over the place. When I left at sunset, I'd been discussing transport with LLMs, and I'd already found out that Uber wanted about $30 to the airport from here. And the woman, as I'm leaving, she tells me about the two changes, three bus route on the public buses to the airport, which is probably doable, but I don't really want to get sweaty and stressed with the midday flight and the nine-hour layover and the long, long, long flight. She said, oh, well, you can do a taxi for $30. I said, is it trustworthy? She said, oh, it's my husband. So basically, although I haven't booked that yet, I think probably Wednesday morning from here, I can get a taxi about 8 in the morning. It'll be $30. Presumably, it's trustworthy. If that falls through, I can get an Uber. So I can be at the airport three hours before my flight with a bit of a buffer from here, no rushing back to San Salvador and doing things in a hurry. That means I have tonight and tomorrow night with absolutely no worries, no pressure. I can get up late. I have all day tomorrow and Tuesday to do what I want, which will be very little. But, you know, that's kind of fine. It's not like I do a lot in San Salvador. Also, when I was in the dorm just now, about 1847, I was about to start writing this up, and then I heard someone come in, and it was a couple that I'd seen them check in earlier and said hi to them. And I made a bit of an effort, and I had quite a nice chat with them, and then the volunteer woman came in, and we were all talking in the dorm. So, yeah, that's quite promising. I think they might do movie night, and I might therefore do it about 7.30. The family dinner is going to be spaghetti bolognese because the volunteer said, so I said, oh, I'm not big on bolognese, and I'm going to leave soon, so I need to have as many purposes as I can. So I'm going to go back about 9.30. A bit dubious at movie night, but if it's a bust, it's a bust, and it might be social. I'm going to say just that conversation with those guys. They're from Bristol. She's a nurse, and so gets to work a lot, and then have a long time off, and he's a freelance carpenter. So they're on a two to three month trip. Really nice chat with them. So, yeah, that alone is a bit of a win, and that's where we are roughly, the ultra-condensed version. I bloody hope this transcribes okay.

Okay, so I also forgot to say that I came to this restaurant for two rice papusas mid-afternoon. Couldn't really tell the difference, to be honest, but they were perfectly nice. And I'm back here for another two now, so I've eaten a decent amount. I also went down to sunset at the beach. I got a litre of pills in there at the same little shop I did it yesterday. The beer kiosky thing, bar without a seating. Not quite a litre, because I talked to her, I said, do you have any cans? And she said, don't just bottle rice, you can't take it to the beach. She said, no, but she gave me a plastic glass. But she didn't pour the entire bottle in. I did wait a bit to see if she was going to let the foam subside and pour the last bit of the bottle in. She didn't, and I didn't really want to argue. But it's still $3 for nearly a litre. It's still better than paying $1.50 for $3.30 mil or whatever. So I took that down to the beach. The sunset, again, was not bad, to be honest. Purple, orange, but nothing amazingly dramatic, but there was a bit of a party atmosphere. There was a band playing, a lot of people minnowing around. A lot of the locals also, you know, they don't have that smug, 20-something vibe that the locals, national tourists, whatever, that the foreign backpackers do. And I'm exaggerating with that, to be fair. So I did that, and then I went back to the hospital, which was when I met that couple just now, properly. And I was mulling over things on the beach, and it's like, yeah, Monday was always on the cards. Absolute worst case, I decided I really want to be in San Salvador Tuesday night, which I probably won't, and I write off the $15 for Tuesday night that I've paid here. And I don't think I will want to. It's fine. Up above, it says, cheaper than the hostel. It should have been cheaper than Hostel World. I did put a message on Hostel World earlier asking if anyone wanted to meet for a drink this afternoon. I played up the old Git line, but nothing happened. Didn't really expect it would. I'm not sure many people of any age get much out of these things, but it is where it is. So that's roughly speaking everything, I think.

To be clear I'm not expecting that this British couple are going to be best buds or anything like that it's more that just having that conversation for 10-15 minutes with them and then the volunteer that's like a social win you know it's good I'm not craving attention or anything but you know it's just like yeah a little bit of the kind of traveler tourist vibe going there some prospect of further chat along the same lines I was already planning on staying anyway regardless of what happens I didn't see much point change into another hostel this one's quite nice the owner seems nice enough Going somewhere else would just be resetting things, at least I'm starting to get known and if those guys are going to be there and bear up for a casual chat for five minutes as I see them around or something, that's cool. So yeah, as I say, that's more or less where we are and I'm just rambling now.

Oh yeah, when I was here for breakfast, there was actually quite nice American guy at the next table, a bit old, maybe a bit older than me, and he was struggling to find the words for Black Pepper, so I thought, oh, I'll dive in and help him out. I ended up chatting to him a bit. It turns out he's a conspiracy theorist kind of guy. I do think I know his conspiracy theory name, which even has the word conspiracies in. I won't put it on the blog, I've made a note of it in my little Dropbox note style. Actually, I mean, to me, to be honest, what he was saying was just nonsense, but... going to him either trump is dying or we're having a tsunami within the next three days i don't think he was a massively political guy in that sense but anyway but he actually seemed like a genuinely nice guy but obviously not the politics just the he says oh i tried to convince them but of course i couldn't because they're they're on fluoride you know from the water nice enough chap though really actually quite a nice guy but i just sort of went along with it and he was very pleasant really anyway just to know that was a little bit of colour and that also came from me sticking my neck out slightly and chipping my oar in to tell him what black pepper was in spanish

1954 although I'm not livid anymore, I'm still annoyed enough about the bloody buses yesterday that I left a bad Google review for them. Hey, it's not much, but I tried to strike a factual tone so it doesn't look like I've just been on a rant, and hopefully it does them a tiny bit of justified harm. Maybe that's not a very enlightened attitude, but anyway. I also, for example, partly just to make it look like my account, which is new, doesn't just create it, but then I left a good review for the laundry place, and I'll probably leave a good review for a couple of other businesses. Now I've started doing those reviews on that Google account, which is the account I made for the AO6, because, you know, it doesn't do any harm, and it adds a bit of colour. No, this guy isn't incredibly negative, that company was just shit.

2007 just to follow on from what I was saying earlier, it's like the nice thing about staying here is although it's maybe not the ideal place for me it's kind of not that bad and I've basically been on the move every day or two ever since I left on my tepi. It's like I had two nights in the arm One night in Lorneon, one night on the top of the volcano, one night in San Salvador So it's good to get some time where I can just sort of relax a bit and not have to worry about being up in the morning Finished dinner. That was fine. I might I'm not quite sure what to do because I don't want to be pissed Before the film or anything, but I also don't want to overhang around We'll see what happens. I guess I might get a beer somewhere and just take it easy or I might go to the beach or Whatever.

2059 went and had a shower and even a shave. Sitting on terrace and everyone is having dinner  but it is more than the people who aren't having sinner aren't here, there are only about 8 for dinner, it just feels a bit oddly BNM as I am here hanging around and no other non diner is. I could pip out and have a beer or something but it seems a bit silly.

May go lie in a hammock.

2249 someone unexpectedly gave me a slice of pineapples as I was in hammock. The film appeared to start without me but not actually offended as such as it likely flowed from the dinner. I popped back up to dorm to wash  hands after pineapple and guy from earlier was there, brief pip pip.

I did briefly toy with goingout for a beer bit frankly I didn't want to go out or have a beer. Last night I actually did even if there was a slightly loserish edge with being solo and it was fun in the end. I was feeling a bit tired (not on a bad way as such) in hammock and I just yawned as I wrote this.

I did force myself to come watch the film and it is quietly companionable and actually oddly pleasantly cool on terrace and the biggish screen is quite nice and the film is dead poets society which I think I have seen micro fragments of before and which feels oddly apposite (seize the moment, they are all feeding daffodils scene) and is also a curious mix of inspiration and what seems like rather pretentious wankery. (The boys react well because it is scripted. No one thinks it is stupid or feels awkward about it. The fun and doubtless satisfying youthful cive of the dead poets society is presented as more fundamentally deep than it is, and the whole thing is copied slavishly from a past idea they find which feels rather artifical. Etc) The lack of obvious bullying in this kind of school film is also curiously refreshing.

But tbh I also don't really want to watch the whole thing.

2313 some girls (who I guess I was supposed to recognize but didn't) turned up at the dps cave and I felt that was a good point to bow out. I dont feel too bad but not in the mood for just about anything likely to happen in such a scene.

I do feel broadly ok. But also tired. And fuck it, I am going to bed. And only setting a backstop alarm at about 10. And although I just may take a solo daytrip to el zonte tonorrow I may also not.

I am going to force myself to send this and then go to bed.